Where does the merge happen in SVN - on the client or server?
At my company we are evaluating work with feature branches.
We want to use mergeinfo to track the merge.
I have problems in some of our testing projects where merging a chest that only has small changes to branches results in a lot of changed files due to a changed mergeinfo file.
I read that this behavior improved between versions 1.5 and 1.6.
Does this mean if I upgrade the SVN server from 1.5.6 to 1.6 I can expext some improvements on the merge, or is it client dependent (which equals 1.6.11)?
a source to share
Yes, you will see some improvements when you upgrade your server to version 1.6.
If you merge entire branches (rather than individual files between branches), you can minimize the number of files that only change in their svn: mergeinfo properties by removing the mergeinfo information in those files, for example:
$ cd branch1
$ svn propdel -R svn:mergeinfo *
$ svn ci -m'remove tracking mergeinfo on files inside the branch -- only tracked at the branch level now'
Now when you merge the branches, you will see that the svn: mergeinfo property has been updated in the directory at the highest level of the branch, which is all you need.
a source to share