Visual Studio will lose traces of pending changes after unshelve

Yesterday I was working on a set of changes that I don't want to test yet, and at the end of the day decided to postpone my changes. The changes included a bunch of added files. The racks worked great, but today when I didn't get it, the following happened:

  • VS told me that there are already four writable files in my workspace. These files were the ones that I added
  • I told VS everything is fine, overwrite them and we are set
  • VS finished unhelve ...
  • ... but left the Pending Changes tab blank.

I thought maybe something went wrong and tried unhelve. At this point, VS proceeded to tell me that I have pending changes in my workspace. So now I cannot register, I cannot delete and, apparently, the files are locked for editing under my name (yes, unfortunately, we use the lock-modify-unlock mode). What gives, and how to fix it?

Edit: Upon further inspection, the Source Control Explorer does not display any pending changes from me, so apparently this is just my workspace that is borked. Correction: yes it is, I was just looking at the wrong branch, aargh!

Edit 2: tf.exe shows changes. I tried to undo them by deleting the files that were still in the workspace (the ones that caused the first VS error) and were removed without error. For a short time, VS displayed pending changes, but when the operation completed, they were all gone.

+1


a source to share


1 answer


Okay, I'm just stupid today. The shelves I worked with did not belong to the branch I opened. Opening the project from the correct branch miraculously shows the changes in the pending changes tab!



+3


a source







All Articles